la lluvia de oro

025D2362-D2A7-45BB-B1B7-CCD64AAD72DC

I stopped in the street

to take a photo of protest art,

 

to share with my revolutionary friends

demanding freedom

from the chains of capitalism

 

that was wheat pasted on the stone walls of an old catholic church

on a cobblestone road

in southern mexico

 

I had to step back

to fit the whole image

where I stood with my iPhone

next to a woman sitting

in traditional clothing

the bright floral stitching

a harsh contrast to the frozen expressions

two children still

beside her,

another tiny body still,

against her chest

her free palm

out and open and facing the heaven, almost disconnected

from the rest of her

 

a family passes in front

of us there together

frozen in the frame

 

led by a little girl,

 

the same age

as the one silently fading

into the cracks of the colonial stones she leans against,

 

aggressively pulling along a shiny, pink, plastic pony

on wheels

the wheels don’t travel as smoothly along the cobblestone

as they did along the pavement

her free palm

is holding ice cream

 

it is a very hot day

after all

 

her adults chasing after

in muted colors

tired from all the bags they carry

 

and oh how pretty this city is

all cobblestone and charming

narrow streets of saturated color

fruit reds and earth yellows

wrought iron

twisted

into delicate patterns

that my heart already knows

and deeply loves

 

all of this

to cover sacred soil

 

they all will tell you

anything grows here

and it does

through the cracks

sunburst bougivillas

tearing apart stone

 

where the bones wait

but still

cannot,

will not,

rise to the surface

 

bones don’t belong in quaint streets

 

the wind brings the soft harmonies

of an accordion

the notes reach deep into my humanity and echos through the parts of myself

I still

do not know

how to love

it is always like this

with the accordion

each note sings to my joy

to my sorrow

they are the same

always the same

 

a small boy crosses in front

of me frozen

he is holding a plastic bowl

I see the musician now

that’s the thing

with the accordion

hard to know where it’s coming from

the notes disperse into the air

saturating the molecules like moisture

they hang low and heavy in the streets

 

his hair and his shirt are wet from ringing a soaked towel over his head

 

it is a very hot day

after all

 

palms move in and out and in

forcing breath

into sweet melody

his expression frozen

silently fading

into the cracks

of the colonial stones he leans against,

legs outstretched

his soles are worn through

 

the child’s plastic bowl is empty

I hear the two coins

11 pesos

slide from my fingers

and thud against the bottom

I thought

what would it feel like,

for both of us

if instead

I gave the 500 pesos

burning in my pocket

what would it feel like

for both of us

if instead

we had what we were born deserving

but still

do not know

 

but instead

I kept walking

golden pedals floated

lluvia de oro

lloviendo oro

lloriendo oro

some days still

I can’t stop crying

grounded in the moment

in pain and beauty of paradox

let us always still

dance

and dance

 

I bought a beautiful pair of gold earrings

steps away from the small boy

with the still

empty bowl

he said they were hand made

 

tell me Fidel

what does it feel like

to arrive

© 2019 Georgia Faye Hirsty